Your message has been sent, you will be contacted soon

Call Me Now!



The Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States confers two awards to recognize individuals and institutions that advance the mission of the Academy. The Virgilio Elizondo Award is awarded to an individual “for distinguished achievement in theology, in keeping with the mission of the Academy.” The ACHTUS Award is awarded to an institution or organization “for institutional contributions to theology in keeping with the mission of the Academy.”
Jon Sobrino, SJ, 2016 Virgilio Elizondo Award recipient with Hermana Mari Clemens Benitez, RSCJ recipient of Service Recognition and Elsie Miranda, ACHTUS President
Recipients of the Virgilio Elizondo Award

2016    Jon Sobrino, SJ
2015    Yolanda Tarango, C.C.V.I.
2014    Jeannette Rodriguez
2013    Miguel H. Diaz
2012    Otto Maduro and Carmen Nanko-Fernandez
2011    Eduardo Fernandez, S.J.
2010    Timothy Matovina
2009    Raul Gonzalez Ruiz
2008    Roger Luna and C. Gilbert Romero
2007    Michelle Gonzalez Maldonado
2006    Casiano Floristan (Posthumosly)
2005    No Award
2004    Daisy I. Machado
2003    Alejandro Garcia-Rivera,
2002    No Award
2001    Jeann Pierre-Ruiz
2000    No Award
1999    Gustavo Gutierrez, OP
1998    Fernando F. Segovia
1997    Maria Pilar Aquino
1996    Roberto S. Goizueta
1995    Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz
1994    No Award
1993    Orlando O. Espin
1992    Allan    Figueroa Deck, S.J.
1991    Justo L Gonzalez
1990    Maria de la Cruz Aymes
1989    Virgilio P. Elizondo

Recipients of the ACHTUS Award:

Year     Institution
2015    Las Hermanas
2014    Black Catholic Theological Symposium
2012    No Award
2011    Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University in Berkeley
2010    No Award
2009    Daniel O’Connell / Metavisual
2008    SEPI. South East Pastoral Institute
2007    Catholic Campaign for Immigration Reform and the USCCB Secretariat for Hispanic Affairs
2006    Mexican American Cultural Center
2005    National Institute for Hispanic Liturgy
2004    Orbis Books 
2003    Center for the Study of Latino/a Catholicism at the University of San Diego
2002    Hispanic Summer Program 
2001    Catholic Theological Union, Chicago
2000    No Award
1999    St. Vincent de Paul Regional Seminary, Boynton Beach FL
1998    Hispanic Theological Initiative 
1997    National Catholic Council for Hispanic Ministries 
1996    Lilly Endowment t
1995    No Award
1994    Fund for Theological Education
1993    Tepeyac Institute, El Paso TX